Skip to main content

T Levels and HTQs

Engineering for Construction: Plumbing & Heating (T Level).

What are T Levels and HTQs?

In line with the national policies relating to the post-16 educational landscape, the Group plans to expand its offer in T Levels and HTQs amongst other academic programmes.

From September 2023 the Group will increase its T level provision to include:

  • Accounting at Bedford College and Tresham College
  • Agriculture Land Management & Production at Shuttleworth College
  • Management & Administration: Business Support at Bedford College and Tresham College
  • Healthcare Science at Central Bedfordshire College.

The Group will also be expanding its HTQ provision by recruiting for:

  • Methods of Construction (three pathways) at Bedford College.
T Level Computing student in classroom.
Engineering for Construction: Plumbing & Heating (T Level).
Agriculture Advanced (Level 3), students outdoors.
Health and Social Care T Level banner and member of staff.
What are T Levels?

T Levels are two-year courses that can be studied by 16–18-year-olds after finishing their GCSEs and are tailored for young people who know their chosen career to ensure that they are skills-ready for the workplace once they’ve completed their course.

Introduced nationally in 2020, T Levels are a new alternative to A- Levels, an apprenticeship or other post-16 courses.

What’s more, the courses on offer have been designed in collaboration with businesses and employers to ensure students gain all the skills and knowledge they need for a career in their chosen field.

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers, and will offer around 1,800 hours of study over two years. This will include a 45-day work placement, so T Levels will be more suited to students who know what occupation or industry they want to move into.

After two years of full-time study to complete a T Level, the qualification is equivalent to three A-Levels. Students can progress to university, further study or employment and T Levels provide up to 168 UCAS points for entry to Higher Education (with Distinction).

We currently offer T Levels in the following areas:

  • Agriculture, Environmental and Animal Care
  • Business & Accounting
  • Construction
  • Digital
  • Education
  • Engineering & Manufacturing
  • Health & Science

For more information visit

Computing HND The Bedford College Group
Computing and IT Bedford College student
Computing The Bedford College Group 2022
What is a Higher Technical Qualification (HTQ)?

Similar to T Levels, Higher Technical Qualifications (HTQs) are specialist technical courses developed with employers and delivered by industry experts.

Offered at Level 4 and 5 these new qualifications have been designed with employers to meet new local skills needs and occupational standards for the relevant sectors.

Like T Levels, HTQs have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses so that students get the specific training, knowledge and skills required for their chosen careers.

HTQs are an ideal option for students who have completed T Levels studying via a combination of study and work placement.

From September 2023 The Bedford College Group’s Higher Technical Qualifications will be available in the Digital sector. In line with the local skills improvement plan, and to meet local businesses’ training needs across Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire, over the next four years, the Group will be offering HTQs in Construction and Health and Science.

For more information visit